Working like a dog!

Since I was a wee thing, my family has told me I should be a veterinarian. I am passionate about few things, and animals are one of the things I hold closest to my heart. Learning about them, teaching them, watching them grow. Raising my cats from newborn kittens was one of the most amazing things I have ever experienced. Being a part of Peach’s early development? A dream come true.

So when I had the opportunity over the summer, I became part of a local business project. At our farmer’s market, I made and sold dog collars, leashes, toys, and treats. I didn’t do as well as I’d hoped, mostly because my market was not actually our poor, destitute city, in which many dogs don’t even use leashes (Despite leash laws) After a time, I found that I was unhappy with the quality of the supplies I was using, and moved on.

Peach's leash and collar.

When Peach was coming, I was once again unable to find her any apparel I really liked. So I ordered new supplies, and when they arrived, I made new products. I had enough left over to make collars for both of my cats, as well. It struck me that, in trying to make something to suit my dog, instead of something to suit an arbitrary collection of “needs” I felt I had to fulfill, I had created the product I initially set out to create in June of 2011.

So today, I’ve opened the Etsy store Little Blond Dog designs, in honour of my little princess. Thus far, of course, with only a few supplies left, I have only a few items up. I hope to be able to add more patterns, more sizes, more styles, and more things to my shop, in time.

In time, I am also hoping to become a CCPDT certified dog trainer… I just need to find out how to get there!

Egon and Astrid's collars.

Leave a Reply

